Vial Guide

Can peptides cause a fast heartbeat or blood pressure changes?

What the label, human studies or user reports say about a fast heartbeat or blood pressure changes for each of 68 compounds, grouped by where the answer comes from.

Compounds
68
From labels
18
From human studies
17
Not reported when studied
9
No human data
13

Each answer says whether a fast heartbeat or blood pressure changes was reported, and how often where that’s known. “Not reported” means the label or trials didn’t list it, not that it can’t happen. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist about any symptom that worries you.

From a product label 18

What the prescribing information says, with rates against placebo where the label gives them.

CerebrolysinApproved drug
LabelUncommon: palpitations and irregular heartbeat (often from injecting too fast) and high or low blood pressure (EU label). With high-dose MAO inhibitors, 30–40 mL can raise blood pressure.
GHRP-2Approved drug
LabelLow blood pressure is listed at 0.1–5% after the IV test dose. A rise in heart rate isn’t listed.
GonadorelinApproved drug
LabelA fast heartbeat is rare (fewer than 1 in 1,000); vein inflammation (thrombophlebitis) is listed with unknown frequency in the UK label.
hCGApproved drug
LabelRare clots in veins or arteries, including stroke and heart attack, have followed fertility treatment in women, mostly with severe ovarian overstimulation. Pregnyl urges caution with high blood pressure.
L-CarnitineApproved drug
LabelHigh blood pressure: 20% vs 14% on placebo and fast heartbeat 6% vs 5% in the label’s dialysis trials (130 people on IV levocarnitine).
LiraglutideApproved drug
LabelResting heart rate rises 2–3 beats per minute on average; 34% vs 19% on placebo had rises over 10 at two visits running. Blood pressure fell slightly.
Melanotan 1Approved drug
LabelThe EU label lists palpitations and high blood pressure as uncommon and a fast heartbeat as rare; flushing is common. Heart conditions weren’t studied.
OrforglipronApproved drug
LabelHeart rate rises 4–5 beats per minute vs 0.5 on placebo; fast heartbeat was reported in 3% vs 0.9%. Systolic blood pressure fell 5.1–6.4 points vs 1.4.
OxytocinApproved drug
LabelWith IV use, fast or slow heart rate is common; irregular rhythm, blood pressure spikes and, after rapid injection, drops are listed. Nasal: palpitations 1 of 146, none on placebo.
PT-141Approved drug
LabelEach dose raises blood pressure up to 6/3 mmHg and lowers heart rate up to 5 beats, usually for under 12 hours. Ruled out with uncontrolled hypertension or heart disease.
SemaglutideApproved drug
LabelResting heart rate rises 1–4 beats per minute on average; 26% vs 16% on placebo had a jump of 20 or more at some visit. Blood pressure tends to fall.
TesamorelinApproved drug
LabelPalpitations: 1% vs 0% on placebo. The original 2010 label also listed high blood pressure (1.3% vs 0.8%). Long-term heart safety hasn’t been established, the label says.
TirzepatideApproved drug
LabelResting heart rate rises 1–3 beats per minute on average. Systolic blood pressure fell 6.6–7.7 points vs 1.0 on placebo; low blood pressure hit 1.6% vs 0.1%.
TriptorelinApproved drug
LabelHigh blood pressure: 3.6–14.2% across the trials. The label warns of more heart attacks, sudden cardiac deaths and strokes in men, and of QT prolongation, a heart-rhythm change.
VIPApproved drug
LabelInvicorp: palpitations and fast heartbeat uncommon, heart attack and angina very rare. IV infusions raised low blood pressure (58% vs 41% on placebo) and fast heartbeat (9.5% vs 4.8%).
SermorelinHuman studies
LabelFacial flushing occurred in under 1% with nightly shots; IV test doses also caused flushing, pallor or chest tightness. Blood pressure didn’t change in 10 older men over 2 weeks.
ExenatideApproved drug
LabelBlood pressure didn’t change on average with the twice-daily pen, and it didn’t prolong QT, a heart rhythm measure. The weekly form raised resting heart rate 2.4 beats per minute.
SS-31Approved drug
LabelNot a listed side effect. The label found no meaningful QT change, an ECG measure of heart rhythm, at 3 times peak levels; an overdose may lower blood pressure.

From human studies 17

What published trials and case reports found.

DSIPApproved drug
TrialIn a 24-woman surgical trial, DSIP raised heart rate; in a withdrawal study, 2 of 107 had low blood pressure. The label advises against it with a very slow pulse.
GlutathioneApproved drug
TrialLow blood pressure and shock occurred in the 2026 outbreak tied to contaminated injections. One person in a 45-person nasal-spray trial developed heart-muscle disease (cardiomyopathy).
MazdutideApproved drug
TrialPulse rose 5.4–8.8 beats a minute at 3–6 mg and up to 17.4 at 9 mg, vs 4.3–4.8 on placebo, in phase 1–2 studies; blood pressure fell.
ARA-290Human studies
TrialUncommon: palpitations in 1 of 46 people and low blood pressure in 1 of 46 on 1–8 mg, vs high blood pressure in 1 of 16 on placebo.
CJC-1295 with DACHuman studies
TrialFlushing or brief low blood pressure: 30% in one trial; heart rate rose with dose in another. A 2006 trial death (heart attack) was attributed to existing artery disease.
HexarelinHuman studies
TrialSingle IV doses briefly raised heart pumping strength (ejection fraction 64% to 71% in 7 healthy men) without changing heart rate or blood pressure. Repeated use is unstudied.
IpamorelinHuman studies
TrialLow potassium, which can upset heart rhythm, was more common on ipamorelin (12.5% vs 3.4%) after surgery. FDA notes a heart-rhythm warning for macimorelin, a related approved drug.
Melanotan 2Human studies
TrialAfter a 6 mg injection, one man’s heart rate hit 146 with blood pressure 151/85 (case report). Bremelanotide briefly raises blood pressure up to 6/3 mmHg, its label says.
MK-677Human studies
TrialAfter hip fracture, top blood pressure rose 12–16 mmHg, with little change on placebo, and heart failure ended the trial early (4 of 62 vs 1 of 61).
RetatrutideHuman studies
TrialHeart rate rose with dose in phase 2, peaking at 24 weeks and then easing. Low blood pressure hit 5–6% on 9–12 mg vs under 1% on placebo in TRIUMPH-2.
SurvodutideHuman studies
TrialResting heart rate rose 3.6 beats a minute vs 0.8 on placebo by week 52 in SYNCHRONIZE-MASLD, while systolic blood pressure fell 7.4 points more than on placebo.
TesofensineHuman studies
TrialHeart rate rose 7.4 beats per minute at 0.5 mg over 24 weeks. The 1.0 mg dose also raised blood pressure; 0.25 and 0.5 mg didn’t.
Thymosin Beta-4Human studies
TrialIsolated reports: fast heart rate and low blood pressure in 1 of 53 each on the gel (pressure ulcers). ECG changes in a Chinese IV trial occurred on placebo too.
AOD9604Human studies
TrialPulse, blood pressure and ECGs didn’t change in trials. One severe chest tightness during an IV infusion was judged possibly related.
LarazotideHuman studies
TrialVital signs and ECGs (heart tracings) didn’t change significantly at any dose in the 12-week trial of 342 adults.
LL-37Human studies
TrialNo consistent blood pressure or heart rate change in the 148-person ulcer trial; one heart attack and one heart failure case on LL-37 were judged unrelated to it.
BPC-157Preclinical
TrialHeart rate, blood pressure and heart blood tests didn’t change in a 2-person pilot of IV infusions over 2 days. No larger human study has checked.

From user reports 4

Commonly reported by people who use it, not established in a study.

NAD+Human studies
CommunityUsers report chest pressure and a racing heart when IV drips run fast, easing when slowed. The one published IV study (750 mg over 6 hours) reported no side effects.
5-Amino-1MQPreclinical
CommunityUsers report a faster resting heart rate or feeling warm. No study has measured heart rate or blood pressure in people.
CJC-1295 (no DAC)Preclinical
CommunityUsers report brief flushing after a shot. In one trial of CJC-1295 with DAC, 30% had flushing or a brief blood pressure drop; another found heart rate rose with dose.
SLU-PP-332Preclinical
CommunityUsers report a higher resting heart rate or blood pressure, more at higher doses. In mice it changed how heart muscle uses fuel; no human heart data exist.

A precaution, not measured 2

A concern that follows from how it works or from a related drug.

IGF-1 DESPreclinical
PrecautionNo human data for DES. Mecasermin trials found heart murmurs and, in a few children, enlarged heart or valve changes on scans, without symptoms; the link was unclear.
IGF-1 LR3Preclinical
PrecautionNo human data for LR3. Mecasermin trials found heart murmurs and, in a few children, enlarged heart or valve changes on scans, without symptoms; the link was unclear.

Seen only in animals 5

Animal findings don’t show what happens in people.

Kisspeptin-10Human studies
AnimalIn mice prone to clogged arteries, 4 weeks of kisspeptin-10 sped plaque buildup in the aorta; FDA calls the relevance to people unclear. Not reported in short human studies.
FOXO4-DRIPreclinical
AnimalNo human data. In mice prone to high blood pressure in the lungs, it worsened lung artery pressure and destroyed vessel lining cells. Effects on heart rate are unknown.
HumaninPreclinical
AnimalNo human data. In mice, HNG reduced heart-attack damage; nothing is known about its effects on heart rate or blood pressure in people.
MOTS-cPreclinical
AnimalNo human data. In rats with drug-induced hardening of the arteries, it limited the rise in blood pressure. Effects on heart rate or blood pressure in people haven’t been reported.
PE-22-28Preclinical
AnimalNo human data. Its parent spadin didn’t change heart rate, blood pressure or heart-rhythm currents in mice; no heart study of PE-22-28 itself has been published.

Studied in people, not reported 9

Labels or trials covered enough people and didn’t report it. It can still happen.

SelankApproved drug
Not reportedNot listed in the Russian label or reported in the small Russian trials, whose abstracts don’t mention heart rate or blood pressure.
SemaxApproved drug
Not reportedNot listed in the Russian labels or reported in the small Russian trials, whose abstracts give few safety details.
ThymalinApproved drug
Not reportedNot listed in the Russian label, which names only allergic reactions; published trials, mostly small and from Russia, gave few safety details.
Thymosin Alpha-1Approved drug
Not reportedNot listed in either label. FDA’s only US report described atrial fibrillation, an irregular heartbeat, in a man also taking peginterferon, which can cause it.
ArgirelineHuman studies
Not reportedNot linked to it in the small skin trials (up to 60 people, mostly 4–8 weeks); one high blood pressure report in an NIH trial was blamed on missed medication.
CagrilintideHuman studies
Not reportedHeart rate or blood pressure problems weren’t among common side effects (5% or more) in the 26-week trial of 506 people on cagrilintide alone.
GHRP-6Human studies
Not reportedNo heart rate or blood pressure problems were reported in single-dose studies, including 250 people given it with GHRH. Repeated use hasn’t been studied.
MatrixylHuman studies
Not reportedNot reported in the skin trials (93 women for 12 weeks; 196 using a mix for 8 weeks), where it was well tolerated.
SNAP-8Human studies
Not reportedNot reported in two small patch studies that mixed it with other actives (24 people for 28 days; another for 12 weeks); SNAP-8 alone hasn’t been studied.

No human safety data 13

No one has been given it in a published study, so it can’t be ruled in or out.

DihexaHuman studies
No dataNo human data for dihexa itself. The prodrug’s trial excluded people with recent heart attacks, rhythm problems or uncontrolled blood pressure, so effects there are unknown.
GHK-CuHuman studies
No dataNo human data: heart rate and blood pressure haven’t been measured in any GHK-Cu study, topical or injected.
AdamaxPreclinical
No dataNo human or animal safety data; Adamax has never been studied.
AHK-CuPreclinical
No dataNo human safety data: AHK-Cu has never been tested in people, on the skin or by injection.
CartalaxPreclinical
No dataNo human data: no study of cartalax in people has been published, so side effects are unknown.
EpithalonPreclinical
No dataNo human safety data: FDA found no study that assessed safety, and its one placebo-controlled trial (40 women, 20-day spray) didn’t report side effects.
Follistatin-344Preclinical
No dataNo human data for injected follistatin; heart rate and blood pressure changes weren’t reported in the muscle gene-therapy trials.
HGH Fragment 176-191Preclinical
No dataNo human safety data for this peptide.
KPVPreclinical
No dataNo human safety data: FDA’s 2026 review found no study and no adverse-event report for KPV by any route.
MGFPreclinical
No dataNo human safety data. In sheep and mice given it around an induced heart attack, heart function was better preserved, not harmed.
PEG-MGFPreclinical
No dataNo human safety data: FDA found no human exposure data for PEG-MGF by any route.
PinealonPreclinical
No dataNo useful human safety data: the few small Russian reports on pinealon gave no details of side effects.
TB-500Preclinical
No dataNo human safety data: FDA found no study that has given TB-500 to a person.

Sources

Each answer comes from the compound’s own page, under “Can it cause …?”, where its sources are listed.