Can peptides cause headaches?
What the label, human studies or user reports say about headaches for each of 94 compounds, grouped by where the answer comes from.
- Compounds
- 94
- From labels
- 37
- From human studies
- 17
- Not reported when studied
- 16
- No human data
- 15
Each answer says whether headaches was reported, and how often where that’s known. “Not reported” means the label or trials didn’t list it, not that it can’t happen. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist about any symptom that worries you.
From a product label 37
What the prescribing information says, with rates against placebo where the label gives them.
- AbaloparatideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache 8% vs 6% on placebo in women; 1% of women stopped treatment because of it.
- CalcitoninApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 3% on the nasal spray vs 5% on placebo. The UK injection label lists it as common, up to 1 in 10 people.
- CerebrolysinApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 1.3% vs 1.2% on placebo in pooled trials (EU label). It can also be part of a rare allergic reaction.
- CetrorelixApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 1.1% of 949 women in trials (US label); uncommon in the EU label.
- CosyntropinApproved drug
- LabelHeadache is listed with repeated Synacthen Depot treatment (UK label, frequency unknown); it isn’t listed after the single US test dose.
- DasiglucagonApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 11% vs 4% on placebo in adults, within 12 hours of a dose.
- DesmopressinApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 2–4% on Nocdurna vs 1–3% on placebo. A persistent headache can be an early sign of low sodium.
- ExenatideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 9% vs 6% on placebo in the 30-week trials, and 14% vs 4% when added to insulin glargine.
- GanirelixApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 3.0% of 794 women in the US trials; uncommon in the EU label.
- GHRP-2Approved drug
- LabelHeadache is listed in the Japanese label with frequency not known.
- GlucagonApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 18% with Baqsimi and 5% with Gvoke in adult rescue trials, and 10.8% after an IV radiology dose in healthy adults.
- GonadorelinApproved drug
- LabelRare (fewer than 1 in 1,000 people) in the UK label for the single diagnostic dose.
- hCGApproved drug
- LabelListed in the US labels without a rate; a UK label rates it common (1–10 in 100).
- IcotrokinraApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 4.1% vs 3.3% on placebo through week 16, the most common reaction in the US label.
- L-CarnitineApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 22% vs 16% on placebo in the label’s dialysis trials, highest at the 20 mg/kg dose (37%).
- LeuprolideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 32% vs 6% on placebo in endometriosis trials and 26% vs 18% in fibroid trials. Rarely, a sudden severe headache with vomiting signals bleeding into the pituitary.
- LinaclotideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 4% vs 3% on placebo in the IBS-C trials; it wasn’t more common than placebo in the chronic constipation trials.
- LiraglutideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 13.6% vs 12.6% on placebo in Saxenda’s adult trials, and 10–11% vs 7% in Victoza’s diabetes trials.
- LixisenatideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 9% vs 6% on placebo with lixisenatide alone, and 5.4% with Soliqua in its 30-week trials.
- MacimorelinApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 3.9% after the single test dose.
- MecaserminApproved drug
- LabelHeadache in 5% or more of children in trials. Raised pressure in the skull, with headache, vision changes or vomiting, occurred in 3 of 71.
- Melanotan 1Approved drug
- LabelHeadache was very common (20%) in the EU label’s pooled trials of 425 patients, usually mild; migraine is listed as common. It isn’t in the US label’s placebo-controlled table.
- OctreotideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 6% on daily injections and 15% on the depot in acromegaly trials, and 33% in an open-label Mycapssa study.
- OrforglipronApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 8–9% vs 7% on placebo in the 72-week weight trials.
- OxytocinApproved drug
- LabelCommon with IV use (UK label), and can be an early sign of water intoxication. In a 24-week nasal trial, headache was less frequent than on placebo (7.5% vs 15.3%).
- PalopegteriparatideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache 21% vs 10% on placebo in the US label; 18.7% across trials in the EU label.
- PramlintideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 13% vs 7% on placebo in type 2 diabetes. In a study of 36 people with migraine, a pramlintide infusion set off migraine-like attacks in 41%.
- PT-141Approved drug
- LabelHeadache: 11.3% vs 1.9% on placebo. One case was severe enough for a hospital stay, and 1% stopped treatment because of headaches.
- SemaglutideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 14% vs 10% on placebo at 2.4 mg; 9% vs 7% in the 7.2 mg trials.
- SetmelanotideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 37% vs 31% on placebo in hypothalamic obesity, and 41% in the POMC, PCSK1 and LEPR trials.
- Somatropin (HGH)Approved drug
- LabelHeadache: 9.9% vs 7.7% on placebo in adults. A severe headache with vision changes or vomiting can mean raised pressure in the skull, usually in the first 8 weeks.
- TeduglutideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache was very common in the EU label’s pooled trials (16% of 109 adults), though it isn’t in the US label’s list of reactions more common than placebo.
- TeriparatideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 7.5% vs 7.4% on placebo, about the same. It is listed as common in the EU label and can follow an overdose.
- TriptorelinApproved drug
- LabelHeadache: 5.0–7.5% of men in US trials and 13.6% of children; very common in women (UK label). Rarely, sudden severe headache with vomiting or vision loss signals a pituitary stroke.
- VIPApproved drug
- LabelHeadache is uncommon with Invicorp, affecting between 1 in 1,000 and 1 in 100 men, as is dizziness.
- ZiconotideApproved drug
- LabelHeadache 13% vs 11% on placebo. Headache with fever or a stiff neck can signal meningitis and needs urgent care.
- SermorelinHuman studies
- LabelHeadache occurred in under 1% of 350 patients given nightly shots in the Geref trials, and was also noted after IV test doses.
From human studies 17
What published trials and case reports found.
- DSIPApproved drug
- TrialIn a 107-person IV withdrawal study, a few patients reported headaches; FDA counts 9 with minor effects such as headache, sweating, nausea or vertigo.
- EcnoglutideApproved drug
- TrialHeadache: 2.8% on ecnoglutide and 2.8% on placebo in a 20-week phase 2 trial of 145 adults with type 2 diabetes.
- MazdutideApproved drug
- TrialHeadache: 10.0% on 3–16 mg vs 10.6% on placebo in the 56-week US phase 2 trial (177 adults), so no clear excess.
- AOD9604Human studies
- TrialThe most common complaint: 25.9% of all 502 people in the 24-week trial, placebo included, with no pattern by treatment. A 54 mg daily dose brought more headaches.
- ARA-290Human studies
- TrialHeadache was the most common complaint: 8 of 46 people on 1–8 mg vs 0 of 16 on placebo over 28 days. One case at 1 mg counted as serious.
- CagrilintideHuman studies
- TrialHeadache: 5–11% across doses vs 12% on placebo in the 26-week trial of cagrilintide alone, so no more common than placebo.
- CJC-1295 with DACHuman studies
- TrialHeadache hit 63% vs 14% on placebo in one trial; in a second, 20–80% across dose groups vs 50% on placebo.
- DihexaHuman studies
- TrialUsers report headaches at higher amounts. In the prodrug’s 26-week trial, headache was no more common than on placebo (2.7% vs 4.1%).
- LarazotideHuman studies
- TrialThe most common side effect in a 14-day trial of 86 people: 17 had headaches, with no difference between larazotide and placebo groups.
- MK-677Human studies
- TrialHeadache was among drug-related side effects more common than on placebo in the 563-person Alzheimer’s trial, and is reported across smaller studies.
- NAD+Human studies
- TrialHeadache was among the most common side effects in a review of 10 oral NADH and precursor trials (489 people); users of shots also report it.
- RetatrutideHuman studies
- TrialHeadache: 0–11.4% across doses vs none on placebo in the 48-week phase 2 trial of 338 adults.
- SurvodutideHuman studies
- TrialHeadache: 7.5% vs 12.9% on placebo in SYNCHRONIZE-MASLD and 9.7% vs 7.8% in the phase 2 obesity trial, so no clear excess.
- TesofensineHuman studies
- TrialMore than 25% of people had headaches at every dose in the 24-week obesity trial. With metoprolol, 36% vs 0% on placebo in a small trial.
- Thymosin Beta-4Human studies
- TrialHeadache in 2 of 53 people on the gel vs 0 of 18 on placebo in a pressure-ulcer trial; not listed in the Chinese IV trial.
- BPC-157Preclinical
- TrialHeadache was among the most common side effects in the enema safety study (24 healthy volunteers on BPC-157), with no clear difference from placebo.
- GlutathioneApproved drug
- TrialNot listed in the label. Headache was among symptoms in the 2026 outbreak tied to contaminated supplement-grade injections (over 25 people, at least 4 states).
From user reports 6
Commonly reported by people who use it, not established in a study.
- SemaxApproved drug
- CommunityUsers report headaches. They aren’t listed in the Russian labels or reported in the small Russian trials, whose abstracts give few safety details.
- GHK-CuHuman studies
- CommunityUsers who inject report occasional mild headache. It wasn’t reported in the small topical studies (13–86 people, mostly 8–12 weeks); injection hasn’t been studied in people.
- IpamorelinHuman studies
- CommunityUsers report headaches. FDA’s adverse-event database holds one report of headache and watery eyes from a compounded nasal spray, possibly a product-quality problem.
- CJC-1295 (no DAC)Preclinical
- CommunityUsers report headaches. This peptide has no human safety data; in a trial of CJC-1295 with DAC, a different molecule, 63% had headaches vs 14% on placebo.
- KPVPreclinical
- CommunityUsers report occasional mild headache. FDA found no human study and no reports in its adverse-event databases through December 2025.
- TB-500Preclinical
- CommunityUsers report mild headaches, mostly early on. No human study exists to measure how often they happen.
A precaution, not measured 3
A concern that follows from how it works or from a related drug.
- Melanotan 2Human studies
- PrecautionNot reported in the three small trials. Bremelanotide, its near-identical relative, causes headache in 11.3% vs 1.9% on placebo; FDA cites melanotan case reports of PRES, a brain-swelling syndrome.
- IGF-1 DESPreclinical
- PrecautionNo human data for DES. The related drug mecasermin lists headache in 5% or more of patients, and raised pressure in the skull with headache in 3 of 71.
- IGF-1 LR3Preclinical
- PrecautionNo human data for LR3. The related drug mecasermin lists headache in 5% or more of patients, and raised pressure in the skull with headache in 3 of 71.
Studied in people, not reported 16
Labels or trials covered enough people and didn’t report it. It can still happen.
- DulaglutideApproved drug
- Not reportedHeadache isn’t among the label’s common side effects, from placebo-controlled trials of 1,670 adults treated for about 24 weeks on average.
- EnlicitideApproved drug
- Not reportedHeadache isn’t listed in the label; in the 52-week trials (about 3,200 adults), side effects overall matched placebo.
- PlecanatideApproved drug
- Not reportedHeadache isn’t listed in the label, whose 12-week trials gave 3 mg to about 1,600 adults.
- SelankApproved drug
- Not reportedNot listed in the Russian label or reported in the small Russian trials of 60–70 patients each, whose abstracts give few safety details.
- SS-31Approved drug
- Not reportedNot a listed side effect. Headache: 0 of 30 adults on it vs 2 on placebo in a 4-week trial, and under 5% in a 48-week trial of 117.
- TesamorelinApproved drug
- Not reportedNot listed as a side effect in the label’s 26-week trials, in which 543 people with HIV took tesamorelin.
- ThymalinApproved drug
- Not reportedNot listed in the Russian label, which names only allergic reactions; published trials, mostly small and from Russia, gave few safety details.
- Thymosin Alpha-1Approved drug
- Not reportedNot listed in either label; the Indonesian label cites use in over 2,000 people, with drug-related side effects in under 1%.
- TirzepatideApproved drug
- Not reportedNot listed as a side effect in Zepbound’s or Mounjaro’s labels, whose weight trials followed 2,519 adults on tirzepatide for up to 72 weeks.
- ArgirelineHuman studies
- Not reportedNot reported in the small skin trials (up to 60 people, mostly 4–8 weeks); the most reliable lab tests found almost none reaches deeper skin.
- GHRP-6Human studies
- Not reportedNot reported in single-dose studies, including a 250-person diagnostic study that found no side effects. Repeated use hasn’t been studied.
- HexarelinHuman studies
- Not reportedNot reported: 60 children and young people had no side effects after one IV dose, and studies of up to 16 weeks gave few safety details.
- Kisspeptin-10Human studies
- Not reportedNot reported in small, short human studies (about 300 people, single doses to 12 days), which often didn’t track side effects.
- LL-37Human studies
- Not reportedNot among the side effects reported in the ulcer trials (about 200 people, up to 13 weeks), which applied it to wounds. Injected use hasn’t been studied.
- MatrixylHuman studies
- Not reportedNot reported in the skin trials (93 women for 12 weeks; 196 using a mix for 8 weeks), where it was well tolerated.
- SNAP-8Human studies
- Not reportedNot reported in two small patch studies that mixed it with other actives (24 people for 28 days; another for 12 weeks); SNAP-8 alone hasn’t been studied.
No human safety data 15
No one has been given it in a published study, so it can’t be ruled in or out.
- 5-Amino-1MQPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: no published study has given it to a person.
- AdamaxPreclinical
- No dataNo safety data for Adamax. Users of Semax, its parent peptide, report headaches, so they may occur.
- AHK-CuPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: AHK-Cu has never been tested in people, on the skin or by injection.
- CartalaxPreclinical
- No dataNo human data: no study of cartalax in people has been published, so side effects are unknown.
- EpithalonPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: FDA found no study that assessed safety, and its one placebo-controlled trial (40 women, 20-day spray) didn’t report side effects.
- Follistatin-344Preclinical
- No dataNo human data for injected follistatin; headache wasn’t reported in the muscle gene-therapy trials (18 people in two trials).
- FOXO4-DRIPreclinical
- No dataNo human data: no one has been given FOXO4-DRI in a published study, so side effects are unknown.
- HGH Fragment 176-191Preclinical
- No dataNo human safety data for this peptide. Headache was the most common complaint in trials of AOD9604, a related peptide, at rates similar to placebo.
- HumaninPreclinical
- No dataNo human data: no one has been given humanin or its stronger version HNG in a published study, so side effects are unknown.
- MGFPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: no published study has given MGF to a person, and FDA’s public adverse-event data hold no reports naming it.
- MOTS-cPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data for MOTS-c itself. In a 4-week trial of a modified version, CB4211, injection-site reactions were the only side effect in over 10% of the 11 treated.
- PE-22-28Preclinical
- No dataNo human data: PE-22-28 has never been given to a person in a study.
- PEG-MGFPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: FDA found no human exposure data for PEG-MGF by any route, and no animal study has been published.
- PinealonPreclinical
- No dataNo useful human safety data: the few small Russian reports on pinealon gave no details of side effects.
- SLU-PP-332Preclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: no published study has given it to a person.
Sources
Each answer comes from the compound’s own page, under “Can it cause …?”, where its sources are listed.