Can peptides cause water retention or swelling?
What the label, human studies or user reports say about water retention or swelling for each of 68 compounds, grouped by where the answer comes from.
- Compounds
- 68
- From labels
- 18
- From human studies
- 7
- Not reported when studied
- 15
- No human data
- 16
Each answer says whether water retention or swelling was reported, and how often where that’s known. “Not reported” means the label or trials didn’t list it, not that it can’t happen. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist about any symptom that worries you.
From a product label 18
What the prescribing information says, with rates against placebo where the label gives them.
- GlutathioneApproved drug
- LabelThe label lists vein inflammation, clots and leakage at the drip site as general risks of any IV solution. Body-wide fluid retention isn’t reported.
- GonadorelinApproved drug
- LabelSwelling, mostly where it’s injected, is uncommon (under 1 in 100) in the UK label. Body-wide fluid retention isn’t listed.
- hCGApproved drug
- LabelSwelling (edema) is listed. In men, water and salt retention can follow high doses because of the extra testosterone; the labels urge caution with heart or kidney disease.
- L-CarnitineApproved drug
- LabelLeg swelling: 5% vs 3% on placebo in the label’s dialysis trials. Serious allergic throat and face swelling has been reported; the label says to stop treatment.
- OxytocinApproved drug
- LabelOxytocin makes the body hold water. Long, high-dose IV drips with lots of fluid have caused water intoxication and fluid on the lungs. Nasal trial: swelling 2.1% vs 1.4%.
- TesamorelinApproved drug
- LabelLeg and foot swelling (peripheral edema): 6% vs 2% on placebo. The label links it to fluid retention from raised growth hormone; it’s either brief or resolves on stopping.
- Thymosin Alpha-1Approved drug
- LabelRare: Indonesia’s label lists joint pain combined with hand swelling. Neither label lists body-wide fluid retention.
- TriptorelinApproved drug
- LabelLeg swelling: 5.0–6.3% on the 11.25 and 22.5 mg depots. Angioedema, a serious allergic swelling of the face or throat, has been reported; the label says to stop the drug.
- SermorelinHuman studies
- LabelSwelling at the injection site was part of reactions seen in about 1 in 6 patients. Body-wide fluid retention wasn’t listed in the former US label.
- DSIPApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t listed or reported. The Deltaran label lists possible allergic reactions, which can include swelling.
- ExenatideApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t a listed side effect. Serious allergic swelling of the face or throat (angioedema) has been reported; the label says to stop the drug and get medical help.
- LiraglutideApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t a listed side effect. Serious allergic swelling of the face or throat (angioedema) has been reported; the labels say to stop the drug and get medical help.
- Melanotan 1Approved drug
- LabelNot in the US label’s table. The EU label lists limb swelling as uncommon; serious allergic swelling of the face or throat has been reported since approval.
- OrforglipronApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t a listed side effect. Serious allergic swelling of the face or throat (angioedema) has been reported with GLP-1 drugs; the label says to stop and get help.
- SelankApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t listed or reported. The label lists allergic reactions, including delayed ones, which can cause swelling of the face or throat.
- SemaglutideApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t a listed side effect. Serious allergic swelling of the face or throat (angioedema) has been reported; the label says to stop the drug and get treatment.
- ThymalinApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t listed. Allergic reactions, the only side effect the label names, can cause hives or facial swelling; those need prompt medical care.
- TirzepatideApproved drug
- LabelFluid retention isn’t a listed side effect. Serious allergic swelling of the face or throat (angioedema) has been reported; the labels say to stop the drug and get help.
From human studies 7
What published trials and case reports found.
- SS-31Approved drug
- TrialInjection-site swelling: 9% vs 0% on placebo, and lumps 11% vs 0%, over 48 weeks in 117 adults. Body-wide fluid retention isn’t a listed side effect.
- ARA-290Human studies
- TrialUncommon: leg swelling in 1 of 46 people on 1–8 mg and eyelid swelling in 1 of 46, vs joint swelling in 1 of 16 on placebo.
- ArgirelineHuman studies
- TrialLower-eyelid puffiness occurred in 1 of 3 people on a 0.05% cream in an 8-person NIH trial that ended early; body-wide fluid retention hasn’t been reported.
- LL-37Human studies
- TrialLimb swelling in 1 of 49 people on the stronger solution was judged possibly related in the 148-person leg-ulcer trial. Body-wide fluid retention hasn’t been reported.
- MK-677Human studies
- TrialMild, passing leg swelling: 19 of 43 vs 6 of 22 on placebo over a year. In frail older adults, fluid overload and heart failure were more common.
- Thymosin Beta-4Human studies
- TrialRare in the ulcer gel trials: leg swelling in 1 of 53 people (vs 0 of 18 on placebo) and face swelling in 1 of 55 (vs 1 of 17).
- SurvodutideHuman studies
- TrialFluid retention wasn’t among side effects reported in 5% or more in the phase 2 trials. Serious allergic swelling (angioedema) hit 2 of 523 people on survodutide, none on placebo.
From user reports 8
Commonly reported by people who use it, not established in a study.
- GHK-CuHuman studies
- CommunityUsers report mild swelling at injection sites. Body-wide fluid retention hasn’t been reported, and no study has looked.
- GHRP-6Human studies
- CommunityUsers report water retention and tingling, known effects of raised growth hormone. No study has tested repeated use, so how often it happens is unknown.
- HexarelinHuman studies
- CommunityUsers report water retention. The 16-week study in 12 older adults found no change in body fat or lean mass and didn’t report swelling.
- IpamorelinHuman studies
- CommunityUsers report water retention. Growth hormone labels list fluid retention, which FDA says may apply to drugs that raise GH; it hasn’t been measured in studies.
- BPC-157Preclinical
- CommunityUsers report swelling at injection sites; one FDA report described 9 days of redness and swelling in someone also injecting thymosin, another peptide. Body-wide fluid retention hasn’t been reported.
- CJC-1295 (no DAC)Preclinical
- CommunityUsers report water retention. Growth hormone labels list fluid retention, and FDA says those risks may apply to drugs that raise GH; it hasn’t been measured for this peptide.
- KPVPreclinical
- CommunityUsers report mild swelling at injection sites. Body-wide fluid retention hasn’t been reported, and no study has looked.
- TB-500Preclinical
- CommunityUsers report swelling or tenderness where they inject. Body-wide fluid retention hasn’t been reported, but no study has looked for it.
A precaution, not measured 4
A concern that follows from how it works or from a related drug.
- GHRP-2Approved drug
- PrecautionNot listed for the single test dose. MK-677, which acts on the same receptor, caused leg swelling in trials, so fluid retention is possible with repeated use, which is unstudied.
- CJC-1295 with DACHuman studies
- PrecautionNot among the trial side effects FDA summarized, but growth hormone labels list fluid retention, which FDA says may apply here. Users report water retention.
- IGF-1 DESPreclinical
- PrecautionNo human data for DES. Mecasermin has caused thickening of facial soft tissues, and long-term overdose may cause signs of acromegaly (enlarged hands, feet and face).
- IGF-1 LR3Preclinical
- PrecautionNo human data for LR3. Mecasermin has caused thickening of facial soft tissues, and long-term overdose may cause signs of acromegaly (enlarged hands, feet and face).
Studied in people, not reported 15
Labels or trials covered enough people and didn’t report it. It can still happen.
- CerebrolysinApproved drug
- Not reportedNot listed in the EU or Russian labels. In a Cochrane review of stroke trials (1,607 people), overall side effects were as common as on placebo.
- MazdutideApproved drug
- Not reportedFluid retention or swelling wasn’t among side effects reported in 5% or more of 177 adults in the 56-week US phase 2 trial.
- PT-141Approved drug
- Not reportedNot listed in the label, whose controlled trials followed 627 women on it for 24 weeks, with a 52-week extension.
- SemaxApproved drug
- Not reportedNot listed in the Russian labels or reported in the small Russian trials (27–187 patients, mostly 10-day courses).
- VIPApproved drug
- Not reportedNo fluid retention is listed in Invicorp’s label beyond injection-site bruising, and in a 196-person IV trial only diarrhea clearly rose over placebo.
- AOD9604Human studies
- Not reportedFluid retention, a growth hormone side effect, wasn’t listed in trials of 893 adults lasting up to 24 weeks.
- CagrilintideHuman studies
- Not reportedFluid retention wasn’t among common side effects (5% or more) in the 26-week trial of 506 people on cagrilintide alone.
- Kisspeptin-10Human studies
- Not reportedNot reported in small, short human studies (about 300 people, single doses to 12 days), which often didn’t track side effects.
- LarazotideHuman studies
- Not reportedNot more common than on placebo in a pooled analysis of four trials (626 people with celiac disease, up to 12 weeks).
- MatrixylHuman studies
- Not reportedNot reported in the skin trials (93 women for 12 weeks; 196 using a mix for 8 weeks), where it was well tolerated.
- Melanotan 2Human studies
- Not reportedFluid retention wasn’t reported in the three small trials (23 men, single doses to 2 weeks), which gave few safety details.
- NAD+Human studies
- Not reportedNot reported in the small human studies of injected NAD+ or NADH, which gave few safety details.
- RetatrutideHuman studies
- Not reportedFluid retention wasn’t among side effects reported in 5% or more of 338 adults in the 48-week phase 2 trial.
- SNAP-8Human studies
- Not reportedNot reported in two small patch studies that mixed it with other actives (24 people for 28 days; another for 12 weeks); SNAP-8 alone hasn’t been studied.
- TesofensineHuman studies
- Not reportedNot listed among common side effects in published trials, the largest lasting 24 weeks.
No human safety data 16
No one has been given it in a published study, so it can’t be ruled in or out.
- DihexaHuman studies
- No dataNo human data for dihexa itself. It wasn’t among side effects seen in 4% or more of people taking its injected prodrug for 26 weeks.
- 5-Amino-1MQPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: no published study has given it to a person.
- AdamaxPreclinical
- No dataNo human or animal safety data; Adamax has never been studied.
- AHK-CuPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: AHK-Cu has never been tested in people, on the skin or by injection.
- CartalaxPreclinical
- No dataNo human data: no study of cartalax in people has been published, so side effects are unknown.
- EpithalonPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: FDA found no study that assessed safety, and its one placebo-controlled trial (40 women, 20-day spray) didn’t report side effects.
- Follistatin-344Preclinical
- No dataNo human data for injected follistatin; fluid retention or swelling wasn’t reported in the muscle gene-therapy trials.
- FOXO4-DRIPreclinical
- No dataNo human data: no one has been given FOXO4-DRI in a published study, so side effects are unknown.
- HGH Fragment 176-191Preclinical
- No dataNo human safety data for this peptide.
- HumaninPreclinical
- No dataNo human data: no one has been given humanin or its stronger version HNG in a published study, so side effects are unknown.
- MGFPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: no published study has given MGF to a person.
- MOTS-cPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data for MOTS-c itself. In a 4-week trial of a modified version, CB4211, injection-site reactions were the only side effect in over 10% of the 11 treated.
- PE-22-28Preclinical
- No dataNo human data: PE-22-28 has never been given to a person in a study.
- PEG-MGFPreclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: FDA found no human exposure data for PEG-MGF by any route.
- PinealonPreclinical
- No dataNo useful human safety data: the few small Russian reports on pinealon gave no details of side effects.
- SLU-PP-332Preclinical
- No dataNo human safety data: no published study has given it to a person.
Sources
Each answer comes from the compound’s own page, under “Can it cause …?”, where its sources are listed.